See Full AFCON 2017 Qualifiers Draws As Super Eagles Draw Egypt


The 2017 African Cup Of Nations, AFCON 2017, group qualifiers have been drawn and Nigeria is set to play seven time winners Egypt in Group G.

Gabon has been confirmed as the host country for the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations. Libya had been initially selected to stage the competition, but its hosting rights were withdrawn in August last year due to the unstable security situation in the country.

2015 winners Ivory Coast will play Sudan in Group I. The draws were made in Cairo, Egypt on Wednesday. Nigeria failed to qualify for AFCON 2015 but won the previous edition in 2013.

The groups in full:

Group A: Liberia, Djibouti, Tunisia, Togo

Group B: CAR, Madagascar, DRC, Angola

Group C: Benin, Mali, Equatorial Guinea, South Sudan

Group D: Botswana, , Burkina Faso, Uganda, Comoros Island , Comoros

Group E: Guinea Bissau, Kenya, Congo Brazzaville, Zambia

Group F: Sao Tome, Cape Verde, Morocco, Libya

Group G: Tanzania , Chad, Nigeria, Egypt

Group H: Rwanda, Mauritius, Mozambique, Ghana

Group I: Sierra Leone , Ivory Coast, Sudan, Gabon

Group J: Seychelles, Lesotho, Algeria, Ethiopia

Group K: Burundi, Namibia, Senegal, Namibia

Group L: Swaziland, Zimbabwe, Guinea, Malawi

Group M: Gambia, Mauritania, Cameroon, South Africa

Nigeria’s first match will be against Chad in Nigeria on 12th of June 2015.

Nigerians on social media have also reacted to Nigeria’s chances of qualitication. The general tone shows that the populace hope Nigeria can qualify from a relatively easy group with Egypt thought to be the only Nation with a serious threat.