Ogun people elect, Kashamu, US wanted fugitive as senator



Buruji Kashamu

Voters in the Ogun east senatorial district, comprising nine local councils have elected Prince Buruji Kashamu, a man wanted in the United States in connection with drug offences, as their senator.

Kashamu was declared the winner today in Abeokuta and was said to have beaten the All Progressives Congress candidate, Prince Adedapo Abiodun. Kashamu’s victory was the most unlikely permutation in the state, facing up to Abiodun, an oil mogul, who ran a well-oiled campaign. Abiodun was expected to win the seat comfortably, but Kashamu defied the odds. He polled 99, 540 votes to defeat Abiodun, who had 84,001 votes.

Kashamu’s emergence was the main surprise in the senatorial election in the district that saw the defeat of two incumbent, Senator Adegbenga Sefiu Kaka.

He came third in the race, winning just 12,972 votes. He contested on the platform of the Social Democratic Party, led by former governor Olusegun Osoba.

Kaka was not only incumbent that failed to win his seat back.

In Ogun central, Senator Gbenga Obadara also of the SDP lost to APC’s Prince Lanre Tejuoso.

Also,the All Progressive Congress,APC candidate in Ogun West, Prince Gbolahan Dada defeated the PDP and SDP candidates to emerge winner in the district. Waliu Taiwo from Ota was the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party,PDP while Biyi Otegbeye from Ilaro was the SDP candidate.

In the House of Representatives race, the APC won seven seats from the nine federal constituency seats in the State,leaving PDP to clinch the remaining two seats.

The two seats won by the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP are Ijebu North/Ijebu East/Ogun Waterside and Remo Federal Constituency. Adesegun Adekoya, a.k.a. ‘Attacker’ won in Ijebu North and Ladi Adebutu, won the Remo federal constituency.

APC’s Kehinde Odeneye won in Ijebu Central. Segun Williams, also of the APC won the Abeokuta South constituency. Both were incumbents..

On the whole, the APC has won in 12 of the 19 local councils so far declared. PDP won in seven.

The only local government being expected now is Ipokia.

Source: PM News