Battle for Lagos Speakership Race: Aspirants Rain Dollars On Colleagues – Read More



In a desperate bid to become the speaker of the 8th assembly, some returning members of the Lagos State House of Assembly have started showering dollars on their incoming colleagues in order to win their support.

Leading the pack in the dollar profligacy are Wasiu Eshinlokun-Sanni and Gbolahan Yishau both representing Lagos Central, and Funmi Tejuoso from Lagos West Senatorial District.

It was reliably reported that the trio met with the new members during their induction course trip to Abuja last week and distributed the dollars among them.

Another lawmaker, Mudashir Obasa, representing Lagos West, was also said to have paid for the return tickets of the new members to Abuja during the same trip.

The 20 new incoming members are the beautiful brides being courted for support by aspirants jostling for the speakership seat.

Of the 20 returning members, three are fourth timers, six are third timers while 11 are second timers.

Among the returning members, there are several caucuses jostling for support, hence the need to court the support of the new members, particularly the eight coming from the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Already, some of the aspirants have been meeting with the new members, not only promising them juicy committees but also showering money, local and foreign, on them.

The race for who becomes the next speaker of the eighth legislative assembly in Lagos state has been generating steam among members and leaders of the party in the state. The tussle for the number three position in the state began prior to the primaries to elect candidates of the APC for all elective positions, in December 2014.

Some of the aspirants for the position are Lanre Ogunyemi, Ojo, Gbolahan Yisawu, Dayo Saka Fafunmi, Wasiu Eshinlokun-Sanni, Princess Adefunmilayo Tejuoso and others.