4 Bayelsa Legislators’ Seats Declared Vacant After Defection To APC



The Speaker of the Bayelsa State House of Assembly, Hon Kombowei Benson, has declared the seats of four members, who defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC), vacant.

The decision was taken by the speaker on Friday, after the four lawmakers declared their decision to join the APC.

After the declaration by the speaker, the State’s Governor, Honourable Henry Seriake Dickson, described the decision as a step in the right direction.

In a statement, the Governor said the action of the State Legislature was not only constitutional, but will also instil party discipline and sanitise the polity.

Governor Dickson condemned the practice of Carpet-Crossing at will by politicians, without recourse to the parties under which they were elected into positions.  He stressed that it was no longer acceptable under a thriving democracy.

According to him, the State Assembly’s decision would set the pace and show the direction of the new PDP in the State.

“Party discipline and loyalty, must be the overriding principles and factors for all members,” he said.

The Bayelsa State Governor also noted that indiscipline, disloyalty and greed had been the bane of the PDP at State and National levels in the past, warning that such acts would no longer be tolerated for whatever reason in the party.

Source: Chanels TV